• Key data
  • Overview
  • Formation
  • Goals
  • Annual reports

KEY DATA

Cluster lead: Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Johannes Fröhlich; Vice Rector Research and Innovation, TU Wien
Management: Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc;

Research Information Systems, TU Wien

RIS Synergy
Duration: Mar 2020 - Mar 2024
Lead: Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc; TU Wien

FAIR Data Austria
Duration: Jan 2020 - Dec 2022
Lead: Dipl.Ing. Dr. techn. Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi, BSc.; TU Graz

Austrian DataLAB and Services
Duration: Jul 2020 - Jun 2024
Lead: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Ernst Haunschmid; TU Wien

OVERVIEW

Research generates knowledge, and produces and processes data. Concepts must be developed and implemented to coordinate the interaction between research information systems and research data management infrastructures with the aid of digital technologies.

In the “Research Data” cluster, several Austrian universities have joined forces with three national funding organisations – the Austrian Science Fund (FWF), the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG), and the Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF) – in order to meet these challenges. The cluster comprises three funded projects that emerged from the 2019 call for tender “Digital Transformation in Higher Education” by the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF). The three projects – RIS Synergy, FAIR Data Austria and Austrian DataLAB and Services – were launched in 2020.

FORMATION

The clustering of various digitisation projects was determined by the BMBWF as part of the project approval for the call “Digital Transformation in Higher Education” and is intended to support the coordination of projects in which there are substantive points of contact or similarities.

GOALS AND TASKS OF THE "RESEARCH DATA" CLUSTER 

  • Optimising the interfaces between the projects RIS Synergy, FAIR Data Austria and Austrian DataLAB and Services
  • Identifying other possible synergies to create sustainable operational systems
  • Joint presentation and information

In addition to the individual project reports, the cluster management also prepares annual progress reports and a final report.

Cluster coordination

The TU Wien is responsible for coordinating the Research Data cluster. Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Johannes Fröhlich, Vice Rector for Research & Innovation, formally leads the cluster while Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc, TU Wien, Department of Research Information Systems, manages the cluster operationally.

Coordinating the cluster ensures that the projects also coordinate and exchange content, schedules and work packages. A steering group was set up to coordinate and monitor the implementation of the Research Data cluster. The individual projects are handled independently by the respective project leads.

• Eckdaten
  • Überblick
  • Entstehung
  • Ziele

ECKDATEN

Leitung des Clusters: Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Johannes Fröhlich; Vizerektor für Forschung & Innovation, TU Wien
Management: Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc; Forschungsinformationssysteme, TU Wien

RIS Synergy
Laufzeit: Mär 2020 - Mär 2024
Leitung: Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc; TU Wien

FAIR Data Austria
Laufzeit: Jän 2020 - Dez 2022
Leitung: Dipl.Ing. Dr. techn. Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi, BSc.; TU Graz

Austrian DataLAB and Services
Laufzeit: Jul 2020 - Jun 2024
Leitung: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Ernst Haunschmid; TU Wien

ÜBERBLICK

Forschung generiert Wissen, produziert und verarbeitet Daten. Für ein abgestimmtes Zusammenspiel zwischen Forschungsinformationssystemen und Forschungsdatenmanagement-Infrastrukturen mithilfe digitaler Technologien müssen Konzepte erarbeitet und umgesetzt werden.

Zur Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen haben sich eine Reihe österreichischer Universitäten gemeinsam mit FWF, FFG und WWTF im Cluster „Forschungsdaten“ im Rahmen der 2019 veröffentlichten Ausschreibung „Digitale Transformation in der Hochschulbildung“ durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung zusammengeschlossen und die drei geförderten Projekte „RIS Synergy“, „FAIR Data Austria“ und „Austrian DataLAB and Services“ konnten im Jahr 2020 gestartet werden.

ENSTEHUNG

Die Clusterung verschiedener Digitalisierungsprojekte wurde seitens des BMBWF im Rahmen der Projektbewilligung der Ausschreibung „Digitale Transformation in der Hochschulbildung“ festgelegt und soll die Koordination und Abstimmung von Projekten unterstützen, bei denen es inhaltliche Berührungspunkte oder Ähnlichkeiten gibt.

ZIELE UND AUFGABEN DES CLUSTERS "FORSCHUNGSDATEN"

  • Optimierung der Schnittstellen zwischen den Projekten „RIS Synergy“, „FAIR Data Austria“ und „Austrian DataLAB and Services“
  • Identifikation möglicher weiterer Synergien zur Schaffung nachhaltiger operativer Systeme
  • gemeinsamer Auftritt und gemeinsame Information

Neben den Berichten der einzelnen Projekte werden auch seitens der Cluster-Leitung Zwischenberichte (einmal jährlich) und ein Endbericht verfasst.

Koordination des Clusters

Die Koordination für den Cluster Forschungsdaten übernimmt die TU Wien. Formal vertritt Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Johannes Fröhlich, Vizerektor für Forschung & Innovation, den Cluster Forschungsdaten, operativ übernimmt Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc, TU Wien Fachbereich Forschungsinformationssysteme, das Clustermanagement.

Die Clusterkoordination stellt Abstimmung und Austausch in Bezug auf Inhalte, Zeitpläne und Arbeitspakete der Projekte sicher. Für Abstimmung und Monitoring der Umsetzung des Clusters Forschungsdaten wurde eine Steuerungsgruppe eingerichtet. Die einzelnen Projekte werden vom jeweiligen Lead der Projekte eigenverantwortlich abgewickelt.