Symposium „Cross-cutting Research Support Services“

Programm 14.05.2024:
9:00 – 12:00: Workshop Hands-on research data
13:00 – 16:00: Symposium CROSS-CUTTING RESEARCH SUPPORT SERVICES
Location: TUtheSky (Getreidemarkt 9, 1060 Wien, Building BA, 11. floor) 

Explore cross-cutting research support services and gain insights from both international and national perspectives.

The Cluster Research Data plays a crucial role in coordinating the interplay of research information systems, research data management and digital technologies/infrastructures. One particular focus is the identification of synergies and potentials for resource-optimised collaboration among various Austrian research institutions.

The representatives of the Cluster Research Data cordially invite you to join the Symposium “Cross-cutting Research Support Services”. Explore ongoing projects, learn about European implementation examples, and engage in discussions on forthcoming challenges.

On May 14th from 13:00 to 16:00 CEST, we will present the projects ‘Shared RDM Services & Infrastructures‘ and ‘ARI&Snet‘. Drawing insights from European instances of national research infrastructures, we will discuss the future of research support services in Austria. Join us for an engaging afternoon of enlightening presentations and inspiring discussions.

Hands-on research data, May 14th from 9:00 to 12:00

Target Audience: Operational actors in the broader field of research data management, Open Science & EOSC activities.

European solutions for making research outputs FAIR

Funded by the EC, the FAIRCORE4EOSC develops 9 services to further FAIR for research. The services work on increasing the Findability e.g. through human language search into research object graph data or the introduction of the Reseach Activity Identifer (RAiD). Accessibility and Reusability are furthered e.g. through the improved archival, discovery and citeability of research source code. Interoperability is advanced through a service for creating, sharing and operationalising crosswalks between metadata schemas.

Programme of the Workshop

The description of all developed services can be found on the project website https://faircore4eosc.eu/eosc-core-components and on the detailed programme of the workshop. For most of them, beta versions and documentation are made publicly available, with the final versions being delivered in spring 2025.

Persons or organisations potentially interested in adopting these services are invited to this open consultation, where the developers are available to support their adoption of the services. Developers are also very keen on receiving feedback on the services, as it may still affect the final features and the quality of the services before their final versions. 

To round off the day’s programme, we are offering three different guided tours on the Getreidemarkt campus (NMR Centre, X-ray Centre, Plus-Energie-Bürohochhaus). As places are limited, please register as soon as possible..

TUtheSky

Symposium „Cross-cutting Research Support Services“

Programm 14.05.2024:
9:00 – 12:00: Workshop Hands-on research data
13:00 – 16:00: Symposium CROSS-CUTTING RESEARCH SUPPORT SERVICES
Location: TUtheSky (Getreidemarkt 9, 1060 Wien, Gebäude BA, 11. OG) 

Erkunden Sie kooperative forschungsunterstützende Services und gewinnen Sie Einblicke aus internationaler und nationaler Perspektive.

Der Cluster Forschungsdaten spielt eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Koordinierung der Aktivitäten zu Forschungsinformationssystemen, Forschungsdatenmanagement und digitalen Technologien/Infrastrukturen. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Identifizierung von Synergien und Potenzialen für eine ressourcenoptimierte Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen österreichischen Forschungseinrichtungen.

Die Vertreterinnen und Vertreter des Clusters Forschungsdaten laden zum Symposium „Cross-cutting Research Support Services“ ein. Informieren Sie sich über aktuelle Projekte, lernen Sie europäische Umsetzungen kennen und diskutieren Sie die Herausforderungen der Zukunft.

Am 14. Mai von 13:00 bis 16:00 Uhr stellen wir die Projekte ‚Shared RDM Services & Infrastructures‘ und ‚ARI&Snet‘ vor. Anhand von europäischen Beispielen nationaler Forschungsinfrastrukturen werden wir die Zukunft von forschungsunterstützenden Services in Österreich diskutieren. Freuen Sie sich auf einen spannenden Nachmittag mit interessanten Vorträgen und anregenden Diskussionen.

Hands-on research data, 14. Mai 9:00-12:00 Uhr

Zielpublikum: Operative Akteure im weiteren Umfeld von Forschungsdatenmanagement, Open Science & EOSC-Aktivitäten.

Europäische Lösungen, um Forschungsergebnisse FAIR zu machen

Das von der Europäischen Kommission finanzierte FAIRCORE4EOSC entwickelt 9 Services zur Förderung von FAIR für die Forschung. Die Services arbeiten an der Verbesserung der Auffindbarkeit, von Forschungsobjekten oder der Einführung des Reseach Activity Identifer (RAiD). Zugänglichkeit und Wiederverwendbarkeit werden z. B. durch die verbesserte Archivierung, Auffindung und Zitierfähigkeit von Forschungsquellcode gefördert. Interoperabilität wird durch einen Service zur Erstellung, gemeinsamen Nutzung und Operationalisierung von Crosswalks zwischen Metadatenschemata gefördert.

Programm des Workshops

Die Beschreibung aller entwickelten Services ist auf der Projektwebsite https://faircore4eosc.eu/eosc-core-components und dem detaillierten Workshop-Programm zu finden. Für die meisten von ihnen werden Betaversionen und Dokumentationen öffentlich zugänglich gemacht, wobei die endgültigen Versionen im Frühjahr 2025 bereitgestellt werden.

Interessierte Personen oder Organisationen werden zur offenen Konsultation eingeladen, bei der die Entwickler zur Verfügung stehen, um sie bei der Planung und Übernahme der Dienste zu unterstützen. Die Entwickler freuen sich auch über Feedback zu den Services, da sowohl endgültige Funktionen und Qualität der Services noch vor ihrer endgültigen Version beeinflusst werden können.

Zum Ausklang bieten wir im Anschluss zum Tagesprogramm drei verschiedene Führungen am Campus Getreidemarkt an (NMR-Zentrum, Röntgenzentrum, Plus-Energie-Bürohochhaus). Da die Plätze beschränkt sind, wird um zeitgerechte Anmeldung gebeten.

TUtheSky