• Key data
  • Starting position
  • Goals
  • Project description

KEY DATA

Project lead: Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc; Forschungsinformationssysteme, TU Wien

Duration: March 2020 – March 2024

STARTING POSITION

With the “Digital Austria” initiative and the eGovernment Act coming into effect in 2020, the Austrian administration set a clear focus on digital transformation. 

Such a focus presents various opportunities for the research landscape: Digital processes facilitate communication between funding organisations, research institutions, researchers and ministries. They also provide qualitative, transparent and secure information. They have the potential to reallocate science and research resources and to support innovative cooperation platforms and synergies to strengthen Austria as a research location.

A key goal of digital transformation is to make available structured and electronically stored data that only needs to be collected once. This once-only principle is a fundamental principle of the EU eGovernment Action Plan 2016–2020 and a central focus in Austria.

Currently, however, data entry in research information systems is completely decoupled: For one, researchers have to fill in the CRIS databases of their research institutions to meet internal governance requirements as well as reporting requirements internally and to the ministries. For another, researchers have to enter the same data into the systems of funding organisations for application management. There are also similar activities in project approval and reporting processes in both systems.

Using standardised interfaces would minimise additional efforts and error rates when making duplicate entries and would facilitate implementing security and quality requirements.

GOALS

  • Digitisation and increasing the effectiveness of administrative support for research projects in the spirit of “debureaucratisation in the higher education sector”
  • Saving resources and increasing the competitiveness of researchers through qualitative support
  • Increase in data quality and transparency for research institutions, funding organisations and public bodies (national and international)
  • Standardised, open interfaces
  • Implementing the once-only principle
  • Sustainable handling of data in accordance with the GDPR
  • Representation of input and output of the research landscape according to international standards (CERIF)
  • Development of a common position regarding a national research portal 

PROJEKT DESCRIPTION

Subproject 1: Interfaces and Standards

In order to digitise administrative processes, the IT systems of funding organisations and research institutions need to be connected, which would make it possible to improve data quality and conserve resources on all sides. New developments in the digital systems of the FWF (elane, PROFI, final project reports) offer an excellent opportunity for this.

For the duration of the project life cycle, Subproject 1 deals with defining and establishing technical interfaces for connecting IT systems. In light of ongoing digitisation projects, the following interfaces are currently planned:

  1. Interfaces through which information on funding programs is made available → Automated imports eliminate the need to maintain call information in research institutions manually. Instead, resources can be allocated to high-quality support for application advice, to increase scientific performance, and to support scientists.
  2. Interfaces that import the organisational structure of research institutions into the systems of the funding organisation → Information on the organisational structure can be transferred from funded institutions to the funding organisation to facilitate project approval and authentication.
  3. Interfaces through which information from e-call systems is made available → Automated data exchange between funding organisations and applicant institutions in the application phase would help avoid duplicate project data (a one-sided import from the EU Participant Portal might also be possible).
  4. Interfaces for the exchange of information about data management plans (DMPs) or between DMP tools.
  5. Interfaces for exchanging research output metadata from third-party funded projects → Regular upload of research results, such as DMPs, reports or publications, can be supported via interfaces.
  6. Interfaces for exchanging financial and accounting data between funding organisations and research institutions → Direct exchange of financial data for the interim and final accounting of research projects.

The use of standardised interfaces and machine-readable content creates further open access and exchange opportunities for other systems of funding organisations, research institutions and public administration. It is also a prerequisite for analytical processes. Using standardised interfaces requires the definition of standards, rules, security concepts, and concepts for the sustainable handling of data in accordance with the GDPR. We define these in a detailed and focused analysis phase. Intensive exchange and cooperation between the project partners and – within the framework of financial and time capacities – with other representatives of research institutions, experts, politics, administration, and business are promoted.

During the analysis phase, we examine project partners’ systems to determine which features they can include, how existing features could be expanded, and how the underlying data structure could be adapted to input via external interfaces. After completing the analysis phase, we will determine which interfaces to implement and formulate a priority plan for implementation.

In addition to the added value already described, the results of this subproject also offer:

  • Diverse evaluation options through standardised basic information
  • Open interfaces for individual adjustments with individual implementation timelines
  • Sustainable implementation with reasonable further expenses
  • Various options for expansion and synergies with other topics

Subproject 2: Concept Study for a Research Portal

In some countries, national research portals already enable networking opportunities and transparent information provision.

Austria needs an openly accessible research portal for the following reasons:

  • neutral and transparent representation of input and output of research projects
  • transparent documentation of research for public administration and politics
  • data basis for innovation research and system evaluation - evidence-based policy (“research registry”)
  • networking platform for the strategic bundling of research expertise
  • interface for international data exchange
  • to promote lasting cooperative communities
  • communication platform for joint activities (e.g. “intention to submit”, initiatives in pre-call phases, etc.)
  • interface to the public database for research infrastructures, open data networks, etc.
  • to make joint initiatives and networks visible (e.g. the network of Austrian CRIS systems, OANA – Open Science Network Austria etc., open data initiatives)
  • a counterbalance to the increasing dominance of commercial providers of CRIS systems

The results of Subproject 1 (“Interfaces”) already bring added value to digital research funding processes. They can also be the foundation for a research portal where research input and output can be digitised and displayed transparently, and which can be compatible with international standards. Subproject 2 carries out a concept study defining the framework conditions, requirements and functionalities of such a research portal for Austria.

Based on a recommendation by the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development, the Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF) is currently preparing a project to develop a concept for implementing a research funding database. The contents of this project overlap with the goals of a research portal, which is why we consider important synergies with the BMF project. Therefore, the concept study of Subproject 2 should be carried out in coordination with the BMF, and further projects with related content should be identified.

• Eckdaten
  • Ausgangslage
  • Ziele
  • Projektbeschreibung

ECKDATEN

Projektleitung: Dipl.-Ing. Sabine Neff, MSc; Forschungsinformationssysteme, TU Wien

Laufzeit: Mär 2020 - Mär 2024

AUSGANGSLAGE

Die österreichische Verwaltung setzte mit der Initiative „Digital Austria“ und das 2020 in Kraft tretende e-Government Gesetz einen deutlichen Akzent in Richtung digitaler Transformation.

Auch für die Forschungslandschaft stellen sich Herausforderungen. Einerseits erleichtern digitale Prozesse Kommunikation zwischen Fördergebern, Forschungsstätten, Forschenden und Ministerien und stellen gleichzeitig qualitative, transparente und sichere Informationen bereit. Andererseits bieten sie Potentiale hinsichtlich Ressourcen für Wissenschaft und Forschung, innovative Kooperationsplattformen sowie Synergien zur Stärkung des Forschungsstandorts Österreich.

Ein wesentliches Ziel digitaler Transformation ist die Verfügbarkeit strukturierter, elektronisch gespeicherter Daten, die nur an einer Stelle erfasst werden müssen. Dieses Once-Only-Prinzip ist ein Grundprinzip des EU-eGovernment-Aktionsplans 2016–2020 und auch in Österreich ein Schwerpunkt.

Aktuell finden Dateneingaben der Forschungsinformation (FIS) allerdings völlig entkoppelt statt: Forschende müssen einerseits die FIS-Systeme der Forschungsstätten befüllen, um internen Governance-Vorgaben gerecht zu werden und Reporting intern und gegenüber den Ministerien zu gewährleisten. Andererseits werden diese Daten für das Antragsmanagement in die Systeme der Fördergeber eingetragen. Parallelaktivitäten bestehen auch bei Projektfreigabe- und Reportingprozessen.

Über standardisierte Schnittstellen wäre es möglich, Zusatzaufwand sowie Fehleranfälligkeit im Zuge der Doppeleingabe zu minimieren und Sicherheits- und Qualitätsansprüche zu implementieren.

ZIELE

  • Digitalisierung und Steigerung der Effektivität bei der administrativen Betreuung von Forschungsprojekten im Sinne der „Entbürokratisierung im Hochschulbereich“
  • Ressourcenschonung für die Wissenschaft und Steigerung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Forschenden durch qualitativen Support
  • Steigerung der Datenqualität und Transparenz für Forschungsstätten, Fördergeber und öffentliche Stellen (national wie international)
  • Standardisierte, offene Schnittstellen
  • Umsetzung des Once-Only-Prinzips
  • Nachhaltiger Umgang mit Daten im Sinne der DSGVO
  • Darstellung von In- und Output der Forschungslandschaft nach internationalen Standards (CERIF)
  • Erarbeitung einer gemeinsamen Position hinsichtlich eines nationalen Forschungsportals

PROJEKTBESCHREIBUNG

Teilprojekt 1: „Schnittstellen und Standards“

Um Verwaltungsprozesse zu digitalisieren, bedarf es einer Vernetzung der IT-Systeme von Fördergebern und Forschungsstätten. Dies ermöglicht eine Verbesserung der Datenqualität und Ressourcenschonung auf allen Seiten. Eine exzellente Gelegenheit dafür bieten bspw. die Neuentwicklungen der digitalen Systeme des FWF (Elane, PROFI, Endberichtsdokumentation).

Für die Vernetzung der IT-Systeme werden im Teilprojekt 1 technische Schnittstellen über den gesamten „Project-Life-Cycle“ definiert und hergestellt. Vor dem Hintergrund bereits laufender Digitalisierungsprojekte sind aus aktueller Sicht folgende Schnittstellen geplant: 

  1. Schnittstellen, über die Informationen zu Förderprogrammen zur Verfügung gestellt werden → Durch automatisierten Import entfällt händische Basispflege von Call-Informationen in den Forschungsstätten. Diese Ressourcen können in hochwertigen Support für die Antragsberatung, zur Steigerung wissenschaftlicher Leistungsfähigkeit und Unterstützung der Wissenschaftler_innen investiert werden.
  2. Schnittstellen, welche die Organisationsstruktur der Forschungsstätten in die Systeme der Fördergeber importieren → Informationen zur Organisationsstruktur können aus den Systemen der geförderten Institutionen an die Fördergeber übertragen werden, um die Projektfreigabe / Autorisierung von Forschungsvorhaben zu vereinfachen.
  3. Schnittstellen, über welche Informationen aus e-Call Systemen zur Verfügung gestellt werden → Automatisierter Datenaustausch in der Antragsphase von den Systemen der Fördergeber in die Informationssysteme der antragstellenden Institutionen zur Vermeidung von doppelten Eingaben von Projektdaten (eventuell kann auch ein einseitiger Import aus dem EU-Participant Portal ermöglicht werden).
  4. Schnittstellen für den Austausch von Informationen zu Datenmanagementplänen (DMP) bzw. zwischen DMP Tools.
  5. Schnittstellen für den Austausch von Metadaten zu Outputs aus Drittmittelprojekten → Regelmäßiger Upload von Forschungsergebnissen, wie bspw. DMP, Berichte oder Publikationen, kann über Schnittstellen unterstützt werden.
  6. Schnittstellen, welche den Austausch von Finanz- und Abrechnungsdaten zwischen den Systemen der Forschungsstätten und der Fördergeber ermöglichen → Direkter Austausch von Finanzdaten bei Zwischen- und Endabrechnung von Forschungsprojekten.

Durch den Einsatz von standardisierten Schnittstellen und maschinenlesbaren Inhalten werden offene Zugangs- bzw. Austauschmöglichkeiten für weitere Systeme von Fördergebern, Forschungsstätten und der öffentlichen Verwaltung geschaffen und Voraussetzungen für analytische Verfahren geschaffen. Dafür müssen Standards, Regeln, Sicherheitskonzepte und Konzepte zum nachhaltigen Umgang mit Daten im Sinne der DSGVO in einer detaillierten und gleichzeitig fokussierten Analysephase definiert werden. Intensiver Austausch und Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Projektpartner_innen, aber auch – im Rahmen der finanziellen und zeitlichen Möglichkeiten – mit weiteren Vertreter_innen von Forschungsstätten, Gutachter_innen, Politik, Verwaltung und Wirtschaft wird forciert.

Während der Analysephase werden die Systeme der Partner_innen dahingehend betrachtet, welche Funktionen abgedeckt werden sollen, in welcher Ausbaustufe sich diese befinden und wie flexibel die zugrundeliegende Datenstruktur auf externen Schnittstelleninput angepasst werden kann. Erst nach Abschluss der Analyse wird festgelegt, welche Schnittstellen im Projekt realisiert werden. Für die Umsetzung wird ein Prioritätenplan erstellt.

Neben dem bereits beschriebenen Mehrwert bieten die Ergebnisse dieses Teilprojekts zusätzlich:

  • Vielfältige Auswertungsmöglichkeiten durch standardisierte Basisinformationen
  • Offene Schnittstellen für individuelle Anpassungen mit individuellem Umsetzungshorizont
  • Nachhaltige Umsetzung mit vertretbarem weiterführendem Aufwand
  • Vielfältige Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten und Synergien zu anderen Themen


Teilprojekt 2: „Konzeptstudie Forschungsportal“

Nationale Portale ermöglichen in einigen Ländern bereits Vernetzung und transparente Bereitstellung von Information.

Auch in Österreich ist ein allgemein zugängliches Forschungsportal

… als neutrale und transparente Darstellung des In- und Outputs von Forschungsprojekten
… als transparente Dokumentation von Forschung gegenüber der öffentlichen Verwaltung und Politik
… als Datengrundlage für Innovationsforschung und Systemevaluierungen - evidence-based policy („Registerforschung“)
… als Vernetzungsplattform zur strategischen Bündelung von Forschungskompetenz
… als Schnittstelle für internationalen Datenaustausch
… zur Förderung nachhaltiger Kooperationsgemeinschaften
… als Kommunikationsplattform für gemeinsame Aktivitäten (z.B. „Intention of Submission“, Initiativen in Pre-Call Phasen, etc.)
…als Schnittstelle zur nationalen Forschungsinfrastrukturdatenbank, Open Data Netzwerken, etc.
… zur Sichtbarmachung von gemeinsamen Initiativen und Netzwerken (z.B. Netzwerk der österreichischen FIS/CRIS Systeme, OANA - Open Science Network Austria etc., Open Data Initiativen)
… als Gegengewicht zur zunehmenden Dominanz kommerzieller Anbieter bei Forschungsinformationssystemen

notwendig.

Die Ergebnisse des Teilprojekts „Schnittstellen“ stellen bereits einen essenziellen Mehrwert im Zusammenhang mit digitalen Forschungsförderungsprozessen dar, legen aber auch die Basis für ein Forschungsportal, über das sich In- und Output der Forschungslandschaft digitalisiert und transparent darstellen lassen und welches an internationale Standards anschlussfähig ist. Daher soll im 2. Teilprojekt eine Konzeptstudie durchgeführt werden, in der Rahmenbedingungen, Anforderungen und Funktionalitäten eines österreichweiten Forschungsportals definiert werden.

Das Projekt „Umsetzungskonzept einer Forschungsförderungsdatenbank“ das derzeit vom BMF – basierend auf einer Empfehlung des Rats für Forschung und Technologieentwicklung – vorbereitet wird, weist inhaltliche Überschneidungen zu den Zielen eines Forschungsportals auf und wird als wichtiger Synergieeffekt gesehen. Daher sollen die Konzeptstudie jedenfalls in Abstimmung mit dem BMF durchgeführt sowie weitere inhaltlich verwandte Projekte identifiziert werden.